Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAward: Schatzi
Background Image URL //

Far West Elizabeth 'Schatzi' Wood Award...

Elizabeth "Schatzi" Wood is one of the most recognized women skiers in the history of recreational skiing and the National Ski Patrol System. Born in the Bavarian Alps, she arrived in the US in 1920 as a governess to the children of the Miller family of Milwaukee.

A few years later she met her husband Ernest Wood while ice skating. She began skiing to be with her husband but only mastered the Sitzmark. Then in the 30s, when Hans Georg started to teach at McGee, Schatzi learned the modern ski technique.

In 1942, Schatzi was only the sixteenth woman to be named to the National Ski Patrol (NSP). In 1950, she was appointed section chief of the NSP at Big Pines. In 1951, she was awarded the National Ski Patrol’s Yellow Merit Star for her work as an outstanding patrolwoman.

Schatzi devoted 15 years of service, developing ways to make her sport better and safer, mapping her areas, applying first aid and conducting searches for crashed planes.

Schatzi was one of the leading women skiers during the formation of the California Ski Association. She was well known by skiers throughout Southern California as a strong skier who could outski most anyone, male or female. Her love for skiing continued to the day of her death at a grand old age of 67. While on a ski trip to Switzerland, Schatzi suffered a cerebral hemorrhage, and two days later, she passed away in her sleep.

Schatzi was a long-time member of Grindelwald Ski Club. She was loved and admired by everyone. Hence, the nickname “Schatzi”, which means “sweetheart” in German.

The Elizabeth Schatzi Wood Award is given to the woman, in the Far West region, who has, through efforts in ski club, council, region, national or international activities, made a decisive contribution to skiing during either the past year or in a prior year This award may only be received once and is based on one or two year achievement (not long-term service) in the Far West region. The two years of service can be for prior years, not just the past two years. In the early years the winner of this award was also referred to as Far West Woman of the Year.

Year Awardee
2024 Jean McCasey 
Kim Hovren
2022 Sandy Blackwell
2021 Chris Gill
2020 No award
2019 Jeannine Davis
2018 Jane Gutierrez
2017 Cindy Krupp
2016 Karen James
2015 Jo Simpson
2014 Debbie Stewart
2013 Nancy Ellis
2012 Eileen Sanford
2011 Sheri Parshall
2010 Gloria Raminha
2009 Barbara Bryant
2008 Mary Olhausen
2007 Fran Long
2006 Debbi Kor
2005 Helen Harris
2004 Marilyn Sigler
2003 Linda Westlund
2002 Nancy Kelly
2001 Nancy Sanford
2000 Lynnell Calkins
1999 No award
1998 Bonnie West
1997 Catherine Ohl
1997 Karen Davis
1996 Connie Smith
1995 Maxine Hanlon
1994 Kathy Hoffmann
1993 No award
1992 Susie Vetter
1991 Karen Kimball
1990 Pat Nangle
1989 Lauren Nagle
1988 Fay Mumbauer
1987 Margo Thomas
1986 Karyn Tablada
1985 Sallie Pritchard
1984 Janie “Frankie” Hansen
1983 Anita Omsby
1982 Jessica Freeman
1981 Billie Joy Wilson
1980 Madeline Hunter
1979 Jan Wright
1978 Nancy Ingalsbee
1977 Marlene Steinmeyer
1976 No award
1975 Kathy Downer
1974 Gloria Slate
1973 Jane Wyckoff
1972 Judy Fjeld
1971 Thelma “Teddy” West
1970 Sally Hudson
1969 Gladys (Sandy) Poulsen
1968 No award
1967 Mary Lou Bearden Reese
1966 Madeline Walton

Eileen Sanford
Far West Service Awards Chair
858-761-6192 [c]

Elizabeth 'Schatzi' Wood
1897 - Sept 3, 1964

Jane Wyckoff (1973)

Gloria Slate (1974)

Jan Wright (1979)
Nancy Igalsbee

Catherine Ohl (1997)
Karen Davis

Bonnie West (1998)
Lynell Calkins