Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAward: Snowsports Builder

Background Image URL //

Far West Snowsports Builder Award...

In 2008 Far West added a Snowsports Builder Award to expand its suite of awards. The award recognizes an individual, team or organization that has made a contribution to benefit snowsports, a contribution that has made an indelible impact on the sport and that may not have been fully recognized.

Such contributions may not be limited to any particular sector of industry, society, or the sport. Their background could include manufacturing, athletics, travel, journalism, electronic or print media, government, academia, teaching and safety.

The Snowsports Builder Award is intended to be for those outside Far West’s traditional service awards and may be made annually by the Trustees.

2023  Brad Wilson
Genia Fuller-Crews
2022  The Drake Family
Kirk Hanna
The Kohnstamm Family
2021 Candace Cable
Schone Malliet
2020   No Award 
2019 Barbara Alley Simon

Barbara Yamada
John Watson, Over 50 Years of Dedicated Snowsports Volunteerism

Ingrid Wicken, California Ski Library

Fritz Buser, Owner & Developer of Mt. Rose Ski Tahoe
Bob Greenwood, "Skiing is a Lifetime of Fulfilling Activity"

Nancy Ingalsbee, Skiers' Voice in Washington DC
Ronnie Lupe, Tribal Leader & Visionary

Jimmie Nunn, Architect of City & Slopes

Bob Wilbanks, National Ski Club Newsletter
Ben Finley & Art Clay, Founders National Brotherhood of Skiers

Charles A. Morse, Former FWSA Executive Director and a whole lot more

Hensley Family, Kratka Ridge Ski Operators
Cliff Blann, Mountain Manager Mt. Bachelor
Arthur Chelton “Shelly” Leonard, Tenth Mountain Division,
Ski Instruction, University of Reno

Vern Sprock, Former owner long-time owner Sierra Ski Ranch

Doug Pringle, Disabled Sports USA, Far West
Bill Marolt, President/CEO USSA

Gregory C. Thompson, Associate Dean for Special Collections of the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Library
Dave McCoy, Founder Mammoth Mountain

Martha Perez, Co-Founder Sports Tours

Norbert Olberz, Founder Sports Chalet
Doug Pfeiffer, former Skiing Magazine Editor in Chief, co-founder PSIA and much more.
Deedee Corradini, President Women's Jumping USA
Jerry Simon & Harry Leonard, originated the traveling ski show in 1958.

Jane Wyckoff
Far West History Committee Chair
949-933-9607 [C]

Doug Pfeiffer 2010

Deedee Carradini 2009 with jumper Jessica Jerome

Jerry Simon & Harry Leonard 2008

Greg Thompson 2012

Martha Perez 2011
with Lori Adis, co-worker

Eric Olberz accepting for his father Norm 2011 with Craig Levra, Sports Chalet