2018 FWSA Convention Award Recipients



Snowsports Builder Award

John Watson, Over 50 Years of Dedicated Snowsports Volunteerism Ingrid Wicken, California Ski Library
Fritz Buser, Owner & Developer Mt. Rose Ski Tahoe

Hans Georg Award

Jo Simpson, Sierra Council & League

Elizabeth "Schatzi" Wood Award

Jane Gutierrez, Los Angeles Council of Ski Clubs

J. Stanley Mullin Award

Todd Hood, Los Angeles Council of Ski Clubs

Jimmie Heuga Award

Dee Armstrong, Los Angeles Council of Ski Clubs

Jordan-Reily Award

Amy Berry, Tahoe Fund

Bill Mackey Award

Sandy Gaudette, SKiGroup.net

Tommi Tyndall Award

Sugar Bowl Resort, California

Terry Smith Award

Kevin Kermode, Mammoth Mountain

Bill Berry Award, Hard News

Justin Scacco, writer for the "Truckee Sun"

Bill Berry Award, Featured Article

Dr. Jon Kedrowski, Author "Skiing and Sleeping on the Summits"

Warren Miller Modern Media Award

Red Bull Media House, "Peak Season"

President's Award

Jane Gutierrez, Los Angeles Council of Ski Clubs Michael Bouton, Intermountain Ski Council Tom Kelly, USSA

FWSA Councils' Man and Woman of the Year

Michael Bouton, Intermountain Ski Council **Kim Hovren**, Intermountain Ski Council

2018 Program Award Recipients

Western Ski Heritage Prize

Ingrid Wicken, Author, "50 Years of Flight"

Safety Person of the Year

Monica Palmer, Reno Recreation and Ski Club, Sierra Council & League

Snowsports History Recognition Award No award

Charities & Our Community Awards

Double Black Diamond 1st Club— Monterey Ski & Social Club, BAC
Black Diamond 1st Club— Bogus Basin Ski Club, Intermountain Ski Council
Black Diamond 2nd Club— Don Diego Ski Club, San Diego Council of Ski Clubs

2018 Communication Award Recipients

Category	First	Second	Third
Wentworth — Outstanding Publications			
NL-Masters	Pacific Rim Alliance Snow Sports Club— Catherine Ohl, Editor	Reno Ski & Recreation Club— Lynn Taylor Wilbur, Editor	The Unrecables— Gordon Cardona, Editor
NL-Novice	North Island Snowdrifters— Debi Young, Editor	Conejo Ski & Sports Club— Steve Soukup, Editor	Castro Valley Ski Club— Dennie Warren, Editor
Outstanding Web Sites			
WS-Masters	Pacific Rim Alliance Snow Sports Club — Catherine Ohl, Webmaster	Reno Ski & Recreation Club— Sandra Stocks, Editor	The Unrecables— Dee Armstrong, Webmaster
WS-Novice	Conejo Ski & Sports Club—— Thomas Costa, Webmaster	Phoenix Ski & Social Club— Ellen Odart & Chris Gerchak, Webmasters	Scottsdale Sea & Ski Club— Ray Jong & Karen Carmines, Webmasters