Far West Ski Association
FWSA Contact Us Board Only Racing Media facebook
About FWSA Member Corner Travel Programs Conventions Photo Gallery Awards Sponsors
Site Map

2018 Far West Awardees

Far West Snowsports Builder Award

Far West Service Awards

Far West Media Awards

Far West Industry Awards

Far West Communication Awards

Far West Recognition Awards

Far West Councils' Man and Woman of the Year

Far West Safety Person of the Year

Western Ski Heritage Prize

Environment Award

Far West Charity & Community Service Award

Far West History Recognition

Historic Ski Club

Far West Race Awards

Download annual Far West Awards Booklet [pdf]

Tommi Tyndall was one of the
first people to develop and install snowmaking on their resort.

Jo Tyndall took over operations of Snow Summit at Tommi's death until her son Dick Kun could join her in running the resort. Dick is still in charge today.


Tommi Tyndall was a prominent force in the promotion of winter sports in the Big Bear area during the late 40s, the 50s and early 60s. He was a one-man whirlwind where skiing was concerned.

Tommi came to the US from Dresden, Germany, in 1939 to demonstrate his father’s machinery at the NY World’s Fair. With the outbreak of WWII, he stayed in the US and joined the Navy. His first paying job in the US was teaching skiing at Sun Valley. He became an American citizen in 1949.

In 1946, he was among the first member of the California Ski Instructors Association. He developed and supervised a group of instructors who formed the Big Bear Ski School. In 1949, he founded the Big Bear Winter Club and hosted Big Bear’s first Winter Carnival.

In 1952, Tommi opened Snow Summit with a mile-long double chair, two major ski runs and several rope tows. In 1961, after a few draught years, Tommi undertook the construction of a major snow making system at Snow Summit, which would be the largest in Southern California upon its completion in 1964.

At age 54, Tommi died in a tractor accident while grooming his beloved mountain.

The Tommi Tyndall Award is given to the ski area, ski area operator; tourism bureau, or the ski area association who has made a distinguished contribution to skiing and/or the Far West Ski Association in the past year or in prior years. This award may be received more than once but not in consecutive years. This award is based on one or two year contribution. The two years of service can be for prior years, not just the past two years.

Click on an underscored name to download the pdf citation.

Year  Awardee
2018 Sugar Bowl, CA
2017 Sports America Tours
2016 Telluride Ski Resort, CO
2015 Whitefish Mountain Resort, MT
2014 Mt. Hood Meadows, OR
2013 Mt. Bachelor, OR
2012 Big White Ski Resort / Silver Star Mountain Resort, BC, Canada
2011 Alpine Meadows, CA
2010 Mammoth Mountain, CA
2009 Big Sky, MT
2008 Vail Resorts
2007 Aspen Skiing Company
2006 Big White Ski Resort, BC, Canada
2005 Breckenridge Ski Resort
2004 Ogden/Weber Convention Visitors Bureau
2003 Big Mountain Resort
2002 Salt Lake Convention & Visitors Bureau
2001 Silver Star Mountain Resort, BC, Canada
2000 Park City Mountain Resort
1999 Ski New Mexico
1998 Aspen Skiing Company
1997 Lake Louise Ski Area
1996 Salt Lake Convention & Visitors Bureau
1995 Boreal Ski Company
1994 Park City Ski Area
1993 Northstar-at-Tahoe
1992 Mammoth Race Department
1991 Bear Mountain Ski Resort
1990 Mt. Bachelor Ski & Summer Resort
1989 Vail / Beaver Creek
1988 Steamboat
1987 Crested Butte Mountain Resort
1986 Mammoth Mountain
1985 Mt. Reba / Bear Valley
1984 Snow Forest
1983 Mountain High
1982 Mammoth Ski Touring Center
1981 Mt. Rose
1980 Alpine Meadows / Nick Badami
1979 Boreal Ridge
1978 Snow Summit / Jo (Tyndall) Alexander
1977 Mountain High
1976 Heavenly Valley
1975 Mt. Reba / Bear Valley
1974 Kirkwood Meadows
1973 Yosemite Mountaineering School
1972 Boreal Ridge
1971 Mammoth Mountain / Dave McCoy
1970 Mt. Rose
1969 Mt. Reba / Bear Valley
1968 not awarded
1967 Mammoth Mountain
1966 Alpine Meadows

Tommi Tyndall
Nov. 1910 – Dec. 27, 1964

Breckenridge (2005)
present by Dick Kun

Big White (2012 / 2006)
Silver Star (2012 / 2001)

Aspen / Snowmass (2007 / 1998)

Vail (2008 / 1989)

Park City (2000 / 1994)


Steve Coxen
Far West Service Awards Chair
503-679-9022 [c]


Ski With Pride • Watch All Sides • Let It Ride— First with Safety Awareness

©1930-2018 All Rights Reserved by Far West Ski Association, 3021 NE 72nd Dr., Suite 9, Box #207, Vancouver, WA 98661
All trademarks & logos are the sole property of their respective owners.
Site developed and maintained by
A Cat Meowz Graphic Dezignz.